Old Bag News

Since most impressive, creative activities have more or less ground to a halt here (mostly due to my complete exhaustion so much of the time), I thought I’d show you something I did a little while ago.

So, it turns out when your kids start going to school, these things called birthday parties start happening.  They caught me a bit by surprise.  I remember doing fun things for birthdays when we were in elementary school and above, but I didn’t realize that preschool kids had big event parties.  Apparently, they do.  I have to admit, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to me.  Maybe it’s because I’m a bit of an introvert, maybe it’s because I don’t go for the pre-packaged celebration, but it never would have occurred to me to me to throw such a party.

But other people feel differently, so I was put in the position of trying to figure out what the heck to get as a gift.  As you know, “Made in China” is not my game.  I didn’t want to add to the schlock involved in such an ordeal, I mean, event (party favors are expected too, you know), and I didn’t exactly feel like throwing my money away on something the kid would never use.  So, for the first party, we bought something little at the local fair trade store.  But for the next one, I decided that I’d like to give homemade things whenever possible.

So, using the skills learned while making your birthday bag (I’ll make you another one someday, when I find the energy and time to make anything again), I set forth.  This second party was for a little girl that J. went to school with but also who we see at swimming lessons each week (they’re in different classes, but at the same time).  So, I decided a personalized towel with matching bag was the ticket.  J. chose the towel, and I went to work.  Here are the results:

I was pretty pleased.  I actually kind-of wanted to keep the bag.  I figure that’s the sign of a good gift.  And, the girl’s mom told me the next week at swimming that when she had opened it, the birthday girl had said, “It has my name on it!!!”

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old Bag News

  1. Anna says:

    Raki, everything you make is cuter than the last thing you made.

Leave a Reply

